Our Story

St. Michael’s School was opened in 1962 by the Parramatta Sisters of Mercy. The following year, the Presentation Sisters from Lismore were invited to be responsible for the school. In 1963, the teaching staff numbered four and the enrolment was 250. Classes were taught in the ‘Tin Shed’, an ex-army hut, and the remainder in a weatherboard house, half of which was occupied by a Mrs Moore.

The school was located in bushland surrounded by poultry farms and a hatchery. Difficulties were experienced in the early years, but the challenge developed a pioneering spirit and a bond with parents and children that has always been special. An open, welcoming spirit has always been an outstanding feature of St Michael’s.

St Michael’s continues to grow from this wonderful history. Through ongoing support from the Catholic Education Office, government grants and our families, we provide facilities and resources reflecting 21st century needs and opportunities.

Now with well over 730 students, our school continues to reflect the rich cultural diversity of the Blacktown South community, with 75% of our students having English as an additional language.


                                 1962 – 1962                                           Sr Mary Dunstan RSM

                                 1963 – 1964                                            Sr Magdalen Matthew PBVM

                                 1965 – 1968                                            Joseph Reynolds PBVM

                                 1969 – 1971                                            Sr Stephen Begadon PBVM

                                 1972 – 1974                                            Sr Carthage Wall PBVM

                                 1974 (Term 2)                                        Sr Benedicta Maye PBVM

                                 1974 (Term 3)                                        Sr Theresa Joan PBVM (acting)

                                 1975 – 1976                                           Sr Ursula Hartigan PBVM

                                 1977 – 1978                                            Sr Rita Doyle PBVM

                                 1978 – 1987                                            Sr Margaret Mary Cogan PBVM

                                 1987 – 1997                                            Sr Ursula Hartigan PBVM

                                 1997 – 1997                                            Mrs Patricia Mervin (acting)

                                 1998 – 2004                                            Mr Richard Orley

                                 2004 (Terms 2-4)                                  Mr Gary Borg (acting)

                                 2005 - 2018                                            Mr John Laffan

                                 2018 (Terms 2-3)                                  Mrs Sarah O’Rourke (acting)

                                 2018 (Term 4-present)                         Mrs Sue Veling